Security Icon

Security and Kontist

It has never been easier to manage your business finances as a freelancer - but easy shouldn’t mean unsecured. Kontist has a number of safety measures in place to make sure your money, your account and your business information are always protected.

Terms Icon

Protecting your privacy

Kontist is committed to protecting your personal information and ensuring that you are in control of your data.

There have been big changes in data in 2018, with PSD2 and GDPR, two major EU regulations relevant to banks, coming into force more or less at the same time. PSD2 mandates access for third parties to bank account information and GDPR creates a framework for protecting personal data based on individual consent.

Although it sounds like the two are in conflict - one mandating access and the other mandating privacy - we see this as an opportunity. It’s an opportunity for you as a customer to have full access to your banking data, and the choice to share it with third parties for a richer, more personal banking experience- while also retaining control over what personal data gets shared. The two laws complement each other, and we believe they make trust in an open banking possible.

For several months, Kontist has been working towards achieving compliance with the GDPR. We assessed the new requirements arising from the GDPR and have taken the necessary steps to ensure that we process all customer and user data in accordance with the General Data Protection Regulation by the May 2018 deadline. In cooperation with our banking partner solarisBank, we have adapted and agreed our terms and conditions.
For more information, you can read our amended terms and conditions and privacy policy and the updated solarisBank data processing policy.

Full list of changes resulting from the GDPR
API Icon

How we secure your data

Kontist is built on a reliable infrastructure, which allows us to share your information with your accounting service when you opt-in. We work closely with these partners to develop integrations that ensure the privacy and security of integrated users.

Kontist Push API Flow

Secure integrated solutions

Our integrations are custom built through direct collaboration with each accounting partner. All accounting integrations share relevant bank data directly with our partners, which eliminates the risk of incorrect or delayed data transmission.

Third party access under your control

The Kontist push API only shares your data with the accounting systems you’ve authorized. Disconnecting your integration stops the transmission of new data and removes all accounting data from the Kontist app. For legal reasons, you need to delete synced banking transactions directly in your accounting system.

Authentication by user, not by third-party

Your bank data is only shared with an accounting system after you set up the integration by logging into your accounting system through the Kontist app. You can disconnect the integration at anytime.

Encrypted transmission

Your data will always be SSL-encrypted when transmitted between Kontist and our integrated partners. Your data is only accessible using a unique security-token that is specific to you and your integration.

API Icon

How we protect your business bank account

Security on-the-go

If you opt in, you will receive a push notification on your smartphone for each new transaction in your bank account or on your Kontist card, so you’re always on top of what is happening with your money.

Card blocking on demand

If you think you may have lost your physical Mastercard, you can lock it Kontist’s banking app with just one tap. You also have the option to change your card’s PIN on demand.

Virtual card security

Kontist meets Mastercard’s high security standard, which allows us to offer a virtual card as part of of our standard account offering. Since your virtual Mastercard only exists as a card number in the app, it cannot be stolen.

Jailbroken/ rooted devices are out

To protect your account and sensitive finance data, we do not allow rooted or jailbroken devices as they intentionally disable default security mechanisms of the Apple and Android operating systems.

Banking Icon

How we protect your money

Rock solid and proven

Our trusted bank partners, solarisBank (your account-holding institution) and Wirecard Bank (card-issuing institution) are both established, internationally operating companies.

Safe and secure

Your money is kept in a regulated, ring-fenced German bank account. Your funds will never be moved, invested or lent to anyone else. It’s your money, and you can always access it.

Guaranteed deposits

Your bank account is held by solarisBank, which holds a European full banking license and therefore is a member of the Deposit Protection Fund of the Association of German Banks, regulated by BaFin and the European Central Bank (EZB). Assets in your Kontist business bank account are covered by the Deposit Protection Fund under EU directives up to € 100,000.

Safe limits

Kontist protects you with limits for card payments. The risk of falling into debt is eliminated with our Debit Mastercard, which does not offer a credit line. You stay in full control of your expenses.

Security Icon

Sicherheit bei Kontist

Es war noch nie so einfach, als Selbständiger die eigenen Bankgeschäfte zu führen. Das heißt jedoch nicht, dass es weniger sicher ist. Bei der täglichen Abwicklung von unzähligen Transaktionen wenden wir eine Reihe von Sicherheitsmaßnahmen an, damit dein Geld, deine Karte und deine Geschäftsinformationen stets geschützt sind.

Terms Icon

So sorgen wir für Datenschutz

Kontist verpflichtet sich, deine persönlichen Informationen zu schützen und sicherzustellen, dass du stets die Kontrolle über deine Daten hast.

In diesem Jahr gibt es viel Neues in Bezug auf Daten. Zwei große, für Banken relevante Regulierungen, PSD2 und DSGVO, treten in Kraft. Die EU-Zahlungsdienste-Richtlinie PSD2 gewährt Dritten den Zugang zu Kontodaten. Die EU-Datenschutz-Grundverordnung DSGVO schafft einen Rahmen für den Schutz personenbezogener Daten, der auf individueller Zustimmung basiert.

Auch wenn es sich anhört, als stünden die beiden in Konflikt zueinander - eine Regulierung schreibt Zugang vor, die andere Privatsphäre - sehen wir hierin eine Chance. Es ist eine Chance für dich als Nutzer, selbst zu bestimmen, mit wem du dein Konto teilst, um bessere Services zu erhalten - während du gleichzeitig die Kontrolle darüber behältst, genau welche persönlichen Daten weitergegeben werden dürfen. Die beiden Regulierungen ergänzen einander, und wir glauben, dass die DSGVO Vertrauen in ein “Open Banking” erst möglich macht.

Wir haben bei Kontist die notwendigen Schritte unternommen, um sicherzustellen, dass wir zum Stichtag im Mai 2018 alle Kunden- und Nutzerdaten in Übereinstimmung mit der Datenschutz-Grundverordnung verarbeiten. So haben wir unter anderem in Zusammenarbeit mit unserem Bankpartner solarisBank unsere Vertragsbedingungen angepasst und abgestimmt.

Übersicht über alle Neuerungen im Zuge der DSGVO
API Icon

So sichern wir deine Daten

Kontist wurde auf einer zuverlässigen Infrastruktur aufgebaut. So können wir auf deinen Wunsch deine Daten mit deinem Buchhaltungsdienst teilen. Wir arbeiten eng mit diesen Partnern zusammen, um Integrationen zu entwickeln, die den Datenschutz und die Sicherheit integrierter Benutzer gewährleisten.

Kontist Push API Flow

Sichere Integrationslösungen statt Schnittstelle

Da die Kontist App und die Lösungen unserer Buchhaltungs-Partner miteinander integriert funktionieren, stehen aktualisierte Bankdaten automatisch sofort in allen Komponenten zur Verfügung. Dies beseitigt das Risiko der fehlerhaften oder verzögerten Datenübertragung.

Drittparteizugriff unter deiner Kontrolle

Kontists Push-API teilt deine Daten nur mit den von dir authorisierten Buchhaltungssystemen. Durch das Trennen der Integration wird die Übertragung neuer Daten gestoppt und alle Buchhaltungsdaten werden aus der Kontist App entfernt. Aus rechtlichen Gründen kannst du synchronisierte Daten von Banktransaktionen nur direkt in deiner Buchhaltung löschen.

Authentifizierung per Nutzer, nicht pauschal

Deine Bankdaten werden erst mit einem Buchhaltungssystem geteilt, nachdem du die Integration eingerichtet hast. Dazu musst du dich aus der Kontist App heraus in dein Buchhaltungssystem einloggen. Du kannst die Integration jederzeit wieder trennen.

Verschlüsselte Übertragung

Deine Transaktionsdaten werden grundsätzlich SSL-verschlüsselt zwischen unserer App und unseren Integrationspartnern übertragen. Deine Daten sind nur mittels eines einmaligen, nutzer- und integrationsspezifischen Sicherheitsschlüssels zugänglich.

API Icon

So schützen wir dein Konto

Sicherheit unterwegs

Du bekommst eine Push-Nachricht auf dein Smartphone für jede Bewegung auf deinem Konto oder Bankkarte, damit du weisst, was mit deinem Geld passiert und wann.

Kartensperrung auf Abruf

Wenn du denkst, du hast deine physische Mastercard verloren, kannst du sie direkt in der Konto-App mit nur einem Tap sperren. Dort hast du auch die Möglichkeit, sie jederzeit wieder selbst zu entsperren und ihre PIN zurückzusetzen.

Sicherheit der virtuellen Karte

Kontist erfüllt den Sicherheits-Standard von Mastercard, der uns erlaubt, virtuelle Kartennummern in unserer App anzuzeigen. Da deine virtuelle Mastercard nur in der App existiert, kann sie auch nicht gestohlen werden.

Smartphones mit Jailbreak oder Rooting nicht zugelassen

Um deine hochsensiblen Daten in der Kontist App vor Angriffen zu schützen, lassen wir Geräte mit Root, bzw. Jailbreak nicht zu. Sie schalten die systemseitigen Sicherheitsmechanismen von Apple bzw. Android bewusst ab.

Banking Icon

So schützen wir dein Geld

Felsenfest und erprobt

Unsere bewährten Bankpartner, solarisBank (dein kontoführendes Institut) und Wirecard Bank (kartenausgebendes Institut) sind beides etablierte, international tätige Unternehmen.

Sicher und geborgen

Dein Geld wird in einem regulierten deutschen Bankkonto geführt. Deine Gelder werden niemals bewegt, investiert oder an jemand anders verliehen. Du kannst jederzeit auf dein Geld zugreifen.

Geschützte Einlagen

Dein Konto liegt bei der solarisBank, die eine europäische Vollbanklizenz besitzt. solarisBank ist Mitglied im Einlagensicherungsfonds des Bundesverbands deutscher Banken unter Aufsicht der BaFin und der Europäischen Zentralbank (EZB). Das Guthaben auf deinem Kontist Geschäftskonto ist im Rahmen von EU-Richtlinien bis zu 100.000€ durch den Einlagensicherungsfonds abgesichert.

Sichere Limits

Kontist schützt dich mit pauschalen Höchstbeträgen für Kartenverfügungen. Das Risiko, in eine Schuldenfalle zu geraten, wird mit unserer auf Guthabenbasis geführten Debit Mastercard ausgeschlossen. Du behältst die volle Kostenkontrolle.